The 3 worst mistakes I made when I started with Obsidian

Romell Avendaño
6 min readSep 30, 2023
Image generated by DALL-E via Copilot

Yup, I know it’s very difficult to learn based on someone else’s experience.

Typically, experience and learning are first-person games. However, being able to understand and in some way visualize another’s path is useful to be able to generate our insights and incorporate them into our path, or simply let it pass.

Here I leave you the 3 mistakes I made when I started my journey with Obsidian, although they could also be useful for similar tools…

1. I have taken notes incorrectly my entire life.

Image generated by DALL-E via Copilot

Like many of you, I have been using and experimenting over the years with many digital note-taking tools, and I can say that each of them (Onenote, Evernote, Notepad, Word, Google Keep, Digital Post-Its, Noteshelf, Bear, Obsidian, Roam, Capacities and Notion among others) have their light and darkness: some really WOW functionality that makes you stay hooked for a long time, an excellent user experience or a free version fits you like a glove, that is, something that works for you for some (or many) reasons and you love it.

--

--

Romell Avendaño

Life is a DIY project, that's why I write about technology, innovation, productivity and more. I'm Obsidian Fan, I'm not a robot and I love coffee.☕🤖