🛤️I was laid off at almost 50. Now what?

Yes! I find myself unemployed, but never desperate because I have two very powerful tools.

Romell Avendaño
8 min readFeb 29, 2024
Image from Copilot

I remember my 20s in the mid-90s when being a young programmer analyst, I took my first steps in a local technology company. I did not really like the work I did, however, I devoted a lot of effort and dedication to it because I was learning a technology that is now completely outdated, but innovative and promising at its time (like all technologies), when at the last hour of the last Friday of a month, I was called from human resources to say goodbye. The always kind and smiling RRHH person, now with zero touch and empathy, gave me a rather cold and distant speech based on numbers and company needs, while I signed a lot of papers and received a check.

If you remember a little your 20s (or you are in them) you may agree that at that time we are still very fragile to this kind of situations, where beyond money, what one more resents is the message of rejection, of not fit, that you have not been good enough or have been up to what was supposed to be good.

In his book, Barack Obama mentions how at some point in his presidential career the struggle was so aggressive that almost any political tactic was valid to discredit the other candidates, and although it was understood to…

--

--

Romell Avendaño

Life is a DIY project, that's why I write about technology, innovation, productivity and more. I'm Obsidian Fan, I'm not a robot and I love coffee.☕🤖